Congressman announces art contest winners

by / 0 Comments / 80 View / June 3, 2013

Congressman John Carter (R-TX31) congratulates the winner of the 2013 Congressional Art Contest and thanks all participants for their involvement. The winners were announced Saturday by Congressman Carter at the Round Rock Art Council’s Art Space.

Each year, the U.S. House of Representatives hosts the nationwide event that allows high school students from every Congressional District in the U.S. to showcase their artistic ability.

Entries are judged by a panel of distinguished artists in each district. The winning artwork from each of the 435 Congressional Districts will be displayed for one year in the Cannon Office Building tunnel that leads into the U.S. Capitol. In addition, the winner will be awarded two roundtrip airline tickets and accommodations for two nights in Washington D.C.

“Our young men and women in District 31 are truly talented artists. I am honored to host the winner in Washington D.C. Walking by their artwork as I move to and from the Capitol each day will remind me of the bright future we have back in Texas. I congratulate all of the artists and thank them for their hard work,” said Congressman John Carter.

The 2013 Texas District 31 Congressional Art Competition Finalists are:

Best in Show:

“Erik” by Kemely Gomez from Georgetown High School


1st- “Erik” by Kemely Gomez- Georgetown High School

2nd- “Betrayal” by Victoria Wadford- Salado High School

3rd- “Future of Idealism” by Katrina Pisetti- Georgetown High School

Mixed Media:

1st- “Midnight Beauty” by Megan Mattson- Salado High School

2nd- “A Little Bit of Madness” by Rachel Lea- Salado High School

3rd- “All In” by Christian Allen Aaron- Salado High School


1st- “Kayla” by Kelly Hicks- Vista Ridge High School

2nd- “Wooden Walkway” by Kayla Hicks- Vista Ridge High School

3rd- “Looking Through the Light” by Cheri Frotten- Killeen High School


1st- “The Scourge of the Underbrush” by Barrett Snyder- Salado High School

2nd- “Face It” by Sofia Restrepo- Georgetown High School

3rd- “Abel the Monster King” by Naim Lujano Carbajal- Georgetown High School

All participant artwork were on display at the awards ceremony, including category winners. Congressman Carter was also joined by renowned artists Dalhart Windberg, Mike Windberg, Gilbert Sauceda and Rebecca Schmude.