Crusaders picked preseason ASC title favorites for 14th straight year

by / 0 Comments / 113 View / August 3, 2016

Special to the Journal

For the fourteenth consecutive year, the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor football team has been picked to win the American Southwest Conference Championship in the league’s 2016 Preseason Coaches and Media Poll. The Cru picked up 13 of the 16 first-place votes and totaled 115 points in balloting of the ASC head coaches, sports information directors and selected media members. Hardin-Simmons is the pick to finish second with 97 total points and the Cowboys also received two first-place votes. East Texas Baptist took the other first-place vote and finished with 80 total points as the pick to finish third. Louisiana College is picked fifth with 75 total points, McMurry University is picked fifth with 41 points, Sul Ross State is sixth at 40 points and Howard Payne totaled 24 points as the choice at #7. Belhaven University was not eligible for the poll as a Provisional Member of NCAA Division III.
UMHB defensive end Teidrick Smith was voted ASC Preseason Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight year. Smith, a senior from Hallettsville High School, was ASC Defensive Player of the Year and ASC Defensive Lineman of the Year last season. He posted 64 total tackles and set UMHB and ASC records with 18 sacks and 27 tackles for loss. Smith also blocked a school record six kicks, recovered two fumbles and forced another last season. Smith’s selection marks six straight polls for a UMHB player to claim ASC Preseason Defensive Player of the Year honors and it is the tenth time overall for the Cru to take that title.
Hardin-Simmons claimed the other two Preseason Player of the Year honors. Junior quarterback Ryan Breton took Offensive Player of the Year while senior kicker and punter Nico Francino was chosen Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year.
The Cru expects to return 51 lettermen from a team that went 11-2 overall and 4-1 in the ASC last season. UMHB shared the conference title with Hardin-Simmons and East Texas Baptist and the Cru has now won at least a share of 13 of the last 14 ASC championships in the last 13 years. UMHB advanced to the NCAA Division III National Championships for the 12th straight year before falling to Linfield College in the National Quarterfinals.

UMHB Football season ticket sales now underway

Special to the Journal

Season tickets for the 19th season of University of Mary Hardin-Baylor football will go on sale to the general public on Monday, July 18. Tickets will be sold Monday, July 18 through Wednesday, July 20 from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. at Gate One at Crusader Stadium off of University Drive on the UMHB campus.
Tickets will also be sold Monday, July 25 through Thursday, July 28 and Monday, August 1 through Thursday, August 4. The ticket windows will be open from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. each of those days. General admission and individual game tickets will go on sale August 8 through August 11 from 9 a.m. to 3p.m. and August 17 and 18 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. at Gate One at Crusader Stadium.
The season ticket price for this year is $50 for a schedule that features five home games.
This year’s home schedule features non-conference games against Ohio Wesleyan and nationally-ranked Linfield College. The Cru will also play home games against American Southwest Conference rivals McMurry University, Hardin-Simmons University and Louisiana College.
Online ticket sales will be available for both season tickets and individual game ticket purchases beginning later this summer. The online ticket web site address will be announced closer to its activation date. The full 2016 UMHB football schedule is available on the athletic department web site at
If you have any questions, please contact Jake Fralicks, UMHB athletic events manager, at (254) 295-4216 or