Lions club swears in new officers

by / 0 Comments / 137 View / July 22, 2016

By Katherine Gibbs

On June 30, the Belton Lions club met at the Gin for their weekly meeting and held their annual officer installation banquet. All of the previous officers were replaced with new members for the new year and awards were given to certain members for their contributions to the club.
The new officers recited an oath and were sworn into their new positions by Police Chief Gene Ellis.
The past president, James Harrison, handed out awards to different members and then gave the Lion of the Year award to Karen Stagner for all of her dedication and hard work for the group.
Harrison thanked all of the members for letting him be the president for the year and then transferred the gavel and charter to the new president, Ted Smith who is responsible for the safe keeping of the charter. Smith gave a few last minute remarks and then adjourned everyone for the evening.
The Lions club was founded on June 7, 1917, in Chicago by Melvin Jones, who owned an insurance agency. Jones gave up the agency and then dedicated his full time to the Lions club. His personal motto was, “You can’t get very far until you start doing something for somebody else,” which is one of the reasons why he started the club. Since then the club has expanded to 210 countries and 46,668 clubs. The club’s main mission is to help improve their communities through service work.
The new officers are as follows: Ted Smith, president, Mark Arrazola, first vice president, Brandon Bozon, second vice president, Ed Bandas, Secretary, Robin Doyal, Treasurer, Mac Hickerson, Membership director and Tootie Wingo, Greeter.