Superintendent recognizes scholars during ceremony

by / 0 Comments / 115 View / June 3, 2013

The annual Superintendent Scholars ceremony was held at 5:30 on Monday in the Lord Conference Center at the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. The program is held to honor sophomore students who ranked in the top 20 percent for their scores on the PSAT exam.

Kathy Cook, BHS Principal, and Dr. Deanna Lovesmith, Principal at Belton New Tech High School @ Waskow, welcomed the students, followed by information on the PSAT/NMSQT test from Dr. Jan Fall, Coordinator of Advanced Academic Studies. Dr. Susan Kincannon, Superintendent, challenged the students to “move to the next level of excellence” by becoming a National Merit Scholar.

Assistant Superintendent Ed Braeuer assisted Dr. Kincannon, Mrs. Cook and Dr. Lovesmith with presentation of the awards, followed by comments from Randy Pittenger, President, Belton ISD Board of Trustees. This is the first year that Belton New Tech High School @ Waskow has a sophomore class to be included in these awards.

Students recognized were: Brian Alvarado, Jessica Bonner, Tristan Boss, Caleb Cable, Alyssa Callin, Christopher Carter, Reagan Francis, Logan Hardin, Kevin Hauger, Macey Hines, Mark Jennings, Nishanth Lavendra, Austin Maddox, Colin Munroe, Caleb Parr, Caroline Rock, Kayla Sohns, Katelyn Sotello, Ryan Stoneburner, Emma Villamaria, Chad Wallace, Riley Wesson, Bretta Winters, Lauren Woodson.