Tigers defeat Yankees to win 8U District 4 tournament

by / 0 Comments / 138 View / August 3, 2016

By Tony Adams
Sports Editor

The Texas Teenage Baseball Association’s 8U Coach Pitch District 4 Championship game was played at Heritage Park last Thursday night to packed stands, despite the 100-degree heat.
The Belton Tigers and Belton Yankees, both heading to the TTAB 8U Coach Pitch Tournament in Cameron starting Monday night, had squared off earlier in the tournament. The Tigers sent the Yankees down into the loser’s bracket after the winner’s bracket semifinals. The Yankees fought their way back to the championship game with wins over the Belton Flying Squirrels, Lampasas Lil Amigos and Belton Red Wings.
The Tigers jumped on the Yankees early with a two-spot in the first inning. They shut the Yankees down in the first inning on solid defense, holding the 2-0 lead going into the top of the second inning.
Once again, Matt Jarosek’s Tigers started swinging the bats and scored the seven-run maximum, putting the pressure on Richard Lazott’s Yankees. They scratched out a run in the bottom of the second, the Tigers answered with a run in the top of the third and they shut down the Yankees to take a 10-1 lead into the fourth inning.
After slamming the door on the Yankees in the fourth inning, the Tigers needed four runs to clinch the championship. The Yankees were able to get two outs, but were unable to keep the Tigers from scoring the clinching four runs to end the game 14-1.
The members of the Tigers are: Alex Aguilar, Kaison Cehand, Mayson Chartier, Zain Cruz, Brson Ellis, Cylar Fuentes, Colby Jarosek, Cason Martinez, Elijah Mungia, Zavian Rodriguez and Krosby Smith.
The members of the Yankees are: Owen Babcock, Ethan Borchers, Landon Borchers, Jackson Cain, Braxtan Cope, Benjamin Harmon, Colton Huard, Evan Lazott, Elias Rivera-Mengis, Benjamin Sallee, Dylan Stephenson, Landon Owens, Dylan Rowlett and Brayden Naegele.