Yankees top Rockies for 14U District win, state in Hillsboro

by / 0 Comments / 202 View / August 4, 2016

By Tony Adams
Sports Editor

The stakes were high last Wednesday night at Jaycee Field in Belton, as the Belton Yankees and Belton Rockies locked horns with a spot in Wednesday night’s Texas Teenage Baseball (TTAB) 14U District 10 Championship.
The Yankees, who defeated the Rockies 17-1 on July 12 to get into the finals, got by the Rockies again to win the district championship 6-3. The Rockies were the runner-up in district and the Cameron Astros finished third.
Will Wallace struck out the side in the first inning, setting up the Yankees end of the first. Alex Saldana led off with a double and Coby Trovinger drove him home with a double to right centerfield and promptly stole third base. Rowdy Soliz grounded out to score Trovinger to put the Yankees up 2-0 after an inning.
The Rockies cut the score in half in the top of the third inning. Sean Flores singled and Josh DeHart singled him home to make the score 2-1.
In the fourth inning, Trovinger led off with a single, stole second and third. Soliz scored him Trovinger again with his second ground out RBI.
The Yankees upped the score in the bottom of the sixth inning. Soliz reached first on a hard line drive up the middle. Canyon Tubbs decided to take a trip to Cedarsville, blasting a two-shot outfield into cedar trees. Jaylen Flores reached on an error by the left fielder, Caleb Pryor sacrificed him over in to scoring position and Trenton Curry singled Pryor home.
Wallace pitched five innings for the Yankees, allowing one run on three hits, striking out 11 and did not have a walk. Canyon Tubbs closed the last two innings for the save, allowing two runs (both unearned) on three hits, striking out one and walking two.
Chase King pitched a complete game for the Rockies, going six innings. He allowed six runs (five earned), struck out 10 batters and walked one.
The members of the Belton Yankees are: Trenton Curry, Jayden Fulcher, Bobby Lott, Johnnie Morales-Nieves, Caleb Pryor, Ethan Reyes, Alex Saldana, Arturo Torres, Jr., Coby Trovinger, Canyon Tubbs, Tony Vriseno III, Will Wallace, Jaylen Flores, Rowdy Soliz and Richard Rinehart. They are coached by Jose Morales and assisted by Mark Trovinger and Russell Wallace.
The members of the Belton Rockies are: Josh DeHart, Tyler Ficker, Ruben Jimenez, Matthew Johnson, Casey Kepling, Eoin O’Grady, Andrew Passmore, Sean Rojas, Devin Torres, Jason Vasquez, Austin Waldo. Jared Yost, Chase King and Jason Torres. The Rockies are coached by Marshall Jarosek and assisted by Johnny Jarosek and Rick Torres.