The Belton Journal

   As of Monday 2/26, a total of 10,664 Bell County voters had cast their ballots, 8,601 Republican and 2,063 Democrat. The Bell County Annex in Belton had seen the most voters pass through, with 3,139, about one-third. Voters can always vote at any location in the county, regardless of their residency or precinct because Bell County belongs to the Countywide Polling Place Program.

   This election season had a lineup of candidates in county, state, and national elections. Locally, Bell County voters selected their choice for Sheriff, with William (Bill) Cooke, Frank Hernandez, Fred Harris on the ballot. One of the three replaced longtime Sheriff Eddy Lange, who previously announced he would not be running for reelection. There was no Democratic candidate for sheriff, so the primary decided the sheriff election.

   In the race for Bell County Commissioner, Precinct 1, Russell T. Schneider – incumbent, Republican, and Marianne Miller – Democrat, were on the ballots for their respective parties. As neither were opposed, the two will face off in the November 2024 general election. County terms of office will end on Dec. 31, 2024 and the winners will take office on Jan. 1, 2025.In the race for U.S. House District 31, longtime incumbent Congressman John Carter was one of six candidates in the Republican party. This year he faced William Abel (Copperas Cove), John Carnan Anderson (Round Rock), Abhiram Garapati (Cedar Park), Mack Latimer (Belton), and Mike Williams (Georgetown) in the primary. In the Democratic race, Rick Von Pfeil (Taylor), Brian Walbridge (Leander), and Stuart Whitlow (Round Rock) were on the ballot. The primary winners for those parties, as with the county offices, will face off in the November general election. Texas House District 55 incumbent Hugh D. Shine was opposed by Jorge J. Estrada (Temple), Davis Ford, and Hillary Hickland (Belton). Jennifer Lee appeared on the Democratic ballot. Check out our March 7th edition to read all of the updates on the election.